Best Practices

The Texas Fire Chiefs Association (TFCA) has developed a Best Practice program to encourage fire departments in Texas to seek continual improvement in their services to their local community.

Best Practices Introduction

There are twelve chapters which define best practices in the typical service areas provided by a fire department. This program is applicable to paid, combination, and volunteer fire organizations.

The TFCA encourages fire departments to pursue this third-party designation by completing the performance requirements outlined in the program.  This will be a challenging but worthwhile endeavor for organizations pursuing this designation.

The TFCA further encourages fire departments to pursue accreditation through the Center for Public Safety Excellence. The TFCA Best Practices program will help facilitate progress toward national accreditation for those seeking this designation.

The TFCA worked closely with progressive fire officers throughout Texas to create a program that defines a pathway to organizational excellence which ultimately enhances firefighter safety, long-term planning, standard operating guidelines, deployment analysis, risk management, and other administrative functions. While most communities believe their local fire department is excellent, elected officials, city managers, fire chiefs and citizens have the opportunity to verify this belief by their fire department attaining this best practices designation. It is always preferred that an independent third party determine if an organization functions at a defined level of excellence.

The TFCA Best Practices program provides a pathway for a fire department to push its level of service to a status of excellence that is validated by independent experts. This designation will demonstrate to customers of these organizations that their fire department is among the very best in the Texas fire service.

Enroll in Best Practices Today

Best Practices logo

Best Practices Forms

Application For TMLIRP Funding for First Year of Best Practices

TMLIRP can provide funding for first year fees to member agencies that enter the  TFCA Best Practices Recognition Program. Funding is on a first come basis, with yearly update fees the responsibility of the member entity.  

Learn More

Recognized Departments

  • Irving Fire Department
  • Coppell Fire Department
  • Hutto Fire Rescue
  • Rowlett Fire Rescue
  • Longview Fire Department
  • Red Oak Fire Rescue
  • Keller Fire Department
  • Belton Fire Department
  • McKinney Fire Department
  • Webster Fire Department
  • South Montgomery County Fire Department - Montgomery County ESD #8
  • Roanoke Fire Department
  • Wylie Fire Rescue
  • Kilgore Fire Department
  • North Richland Hills Fire Rescue
  • Bryan Fire Department
  • Victoria Fire Department
  • Watauga Fire Department
  • Addison Fire Department
  • Melissa Fire Department
  • University Park Fire Department
  • Bedford Fire Department
  • Prosper Fire Department
  • Corsicana Fire Department
  • Mesquite Fire Department
  • Lake Worth Fire Department
  • Highland Village Fire Department
  • Lake Cities Fire Department
  • Alamo Heights Fire Department
  • Flower Mound Fire Department

Getting Started

Before officially enrolling in the program please review the Administrative Guide as well as the Program Manual. We strongly encourage those who plan to enroll review all the documents available so they may be fully informed of the responsibilities of both the candidate departments and the TFCA.  

By completing this form, you will be officially enrolled in the Best Practices Program.  Before beginning, designate a primary contact on this enrollment form who will be the one you anticipate handling the majority of the submissions for the program. 

Annual Fees

  • 1-25 Fire Fighters - $500
  • 26-50 Fire Fighters - $1,200
  • 51-100 Fire Fighters - $1,600
  • 101-200 Fire Fighters - $2,000
  • 201 or more Fire Fighters - $2,400
Best Practices Enrollment Will Reopen Later this Summer


Best Practice Annual Reporting and Renewal 

  • Full renewal review every seven years
  • If the department received a violation from the Texas Commission on Fire Protection (TCFP) resulting in a fine, the department recognized status will be suspended and a full review within one year is required.
  • The affidavit submitted each year by the department verifying Best Practice compliance to the Best Practice renewal committee must include a copy of the TCFP bi-annual inspection report.
  • Recertification forms will be sent in early October; forms and documentation are due by October 31 of each year.
  • Annual renewal invoice will be sent out to departments in January of each year.
  • Annual renewal payment will be due by March 31 of each year.

Please direction any questions regarding Best Practices enrollment and renewal to [email protected]

Best Practices Committee

  • Chief Neil Howard, Chair
  • Dale Skinner
  • Stan Tinney
  • Todd Weidman
  • Ben Blanton
  • Shawn Fannan
  • Scott Eager
  • David Jones
  • Michael Gdovin

    Renewal Committee
  • Stann Tinney
  • Shawn Fannan

Best Practices Recognition Board

  • Chief Robert Isbell, Committee Chair, Round Rock
  • Chris Connealy, Senior Director of Emergency Services of Williamson County
  • Ron Holifield, Strategic Government Resources
  • Bob Leiper, City Manager (ret’d), Baytown
  • Paul Gunnels, TEEX
  • Julie Acevedo, Political Consultant
  • Dr. Geoffrey Tumlin, On-Demand Leadership
  • Burney Basket, Rowlett Fire Rescue